Counseling Regulations 1 2 3 4 PART I. 5 **GENERAL PROVISIONS** 6 7 8 18 VAC 115-20-20. Fees required by the board 9 10 A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a professional counselor: 11 12 13 Active aAnnual license renewal \$105 14 Inactive annual license renewal \$55 15 Initial licensure by examination \$65 Initial licensure by endorsement 16 \$65 17 Duplicate license \$5 18 Verification of license to another jurisdiction \$25 19 Late renewal \$35 20 Reinstatement of a lapsed license \$165 21 Replacement of or additional wall certificate \$15 22 Returned check \$25 23 Reinstatement following revocation or suspension \$500 24 25 B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as 26 specified in the application instructions. All fees are nonrefundable. 27 28 C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 29 30 31 PART IV. 32 LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT. 33 34 18 VAC 115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure. 35 36 A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year. 37 38 B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an 39 active to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 40 41 1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to 42 compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; 43 and 44 2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20. 45

1	C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment
2	of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-20-20. No person shall practice
3	counseling in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee who has placed
4	himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set
5	forth in 18 VAC 115-20-110.C.
6	10th in 10 V/XC 113 20 110.C.
7	CD. Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days. Failure to
8	receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal
9	requirement.
10	
11	18 VAC 115-20-105. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license.
12	
13	A. After July 1, 2004, licensed professional counselors shall be required to have
14	completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure
15	renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics,
16	standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
17	
18	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion
19	of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to
20	the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing
21	competency requirement.
22	
23	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency
24	requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary
25	disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.
26	disability, mandatory minury service, or officially declared disasters.
27	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
28	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individuals will only be
	required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18
29	*
30	VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family
31	Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
32	Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers.
33	
34	18 VAC 115-20-106. Continuing competency activity criteria.
35	
36	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
37	or more of the areas listed below.
38	
39	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science
40	<u>professions</u>
41	2. Counseling theory
42	3. Human growth and development
43	4. Social and cultural foundations
44	5. The helping relationship
45	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
46	7. Lifestyle and career development

1	9 Appropriate of individuals
1	8. Appraisal of individuals
2 3	9. Research and evaluation
	10. Professional orientation
4	11. Clinical supervision
5	12. Marriage and family therapy
6	13. Addictions
7	
8	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following
9	types:
10	
11	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be counted
12	at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the
13	following board-approved mental health related activities:
14	
15	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
16	behavioral health discipline.
17	
18	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
19	
20	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field
21	offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.
22	
23	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field
24	offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by
25	one of the following:
26	one of the following.
27	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
28	state affiliates.
29	state diffinates.
30	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
31	state affiliates.
32	state arrinates.
33	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
34	(m) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
35	(iv) The American Counceling Association and its state and level
	(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local
36	<u>affiliates.</u>
37	() TT A
38	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
39	
40	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
41	
42	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state
43	and local affiliates.
44	
45	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
46	

1	(ix) National Board for Certified Counselors.
2 3	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
4 5 6 7	(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state.
8 9	2. Individual professional activities.
10 11	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
12 13 14	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
15 16 17	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an edited book.
18 19 20	(ii) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
21 22	(iii) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
23 24 25	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time may be counted.
26 27 28	(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
29 30 31 32	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university courses.
33 34 35	b. Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
36 37	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
38 39	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten hours.)
40 41 42	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
43 44 45	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you provide to others.

1 d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 2 3 The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 4 competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 5 editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 6 state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 7 counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 8 review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 9 committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 10 counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 11 justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions 12 must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 13 14 e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 15 hours.) 16 17 The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 18 as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 19 justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 20 clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 21 topics, etc. 22 23 18 VAC 115-20-107. Documenting compliance with continuing competency 24 requirements. 25 26 A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 27 years following renewal. 28 29 B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 30 licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 31 32 C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 33 34 1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities the licensee 35 shall provide: 36 37 a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 38 39 b. Certificates of participation. 40 41 2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 42 material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to 43 completion of the home study. 44

1	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
2	following:
3	
4	a. Certificates of participation;
5	
6	b. Proof of presentations made;
7	
8	c. Reprints of publications;
9	
10	d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing
11	education programs;
12	
13	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
14	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
15	
16	f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing by a signed affidavit on
17	a form provided by the board.
18	
19	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
20	satisfy renewal requirements.
21	10 7/4 C 11 7/4 C 11 7/4 C 1
22	18 VAC 115-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement.
23	
24	A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration
25 26	date by paying the late fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20 as well as the license renewal fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met
27	all applicable continuing competency requirements.
28	an applicable continuing competency requirements.
29	B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume
30	practice shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, and
31	submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope
32	of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing
33	competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
34	competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 nours.
35	C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active
36	licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of
37	continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive not
38	to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
39	to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
40	
40	PART VI.
42	STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
43	UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS;
44	REINSTATEMENT
45	

1 2	18 VAC 115-20-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of license.
3	
4	A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in
5	accord with the following:
6	
7	1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or violation
8	of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of
9	Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the practice of
10	professional counseling, or any provision of this chapter.
11	
12	2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation.
13	
14	3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health and
15	welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice counseling with
16	reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs,
17	narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental or physical condi-
18	tion.
19	
20	4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of
21	Practice (18 VAC 115-20-130 B).
22	
23	5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency.
24	
25	6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in
26	this chapter.
27	
28	B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee may petition the board
29	for reinstatement upon good cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having
30	been obtained that would alter the determination reached.
31	
32	
33	
34	Marriage and Family Therapy Regulations
35	
36	
37	PART I
38	GENERAL PROVISIONS
39	
40	18 VAC 115-50-20. Fees.
41	
42	A. The board has established fees for the following:
43	Registration of supervision \$50
44	Add or change supervisor \$25
45	Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure\$140

1	Initial licensure by endorsement: processing and initial licensure\$140
2	Active aAnnual license renewal\$10
3	Inactive annual license renewal\$55
4	Penalty for late renewal\$3
5	Reinstatement of a lapsed license
6	Verification of license to another jurisdiction\$25
7	Additional or replacement licenses\$
8	Additional or replacement wall certificates\$1
9	Returned check\$2
10	Reinstatement following revocation or suspension \$500
11	
12	B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as
13	specified in the application instructions. All fees are non-refundable.
14	openine in the approximation in the real state and termineter
15	C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.
16	The state of the s
17	
18	PART IV
19	RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE
20	
21	18 VAC 115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.
22	
23	A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.
24 25	
25	B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal aAll licensees who intend to continue an active to
26	practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year on or before the
27	expiration date of the license submit to the board:
28	
29	1. A license renewal application supplied by the board completed application for
30	renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to compliance with the
31	continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and
32	
33	The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20.
34	
35	C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment
36	of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-50-20. No person shall practice
37	marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee
38	who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation
39	requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-100.C.
40	
41	<u>CD</u> . <u>Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.</u> Failure to
12	receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the
13	renewal requirement.
14	

1	D. Licensees shall provide the board with official documentation of a legal name change
2	and written notification of address changes within 90 days of such change.
3	with without notification of auditoss changes within 70 aug s of such change.
4	18 VAC 115-50-95. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license.
5	
6	A. After July 1, 2004, marriage & family therapists shall be required to have completed
7	a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A
8	minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of
9	practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
10	
11	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion
12	of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to
13	the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing
14	competency requirement.
15	
16	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency
17	requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary
18	disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.
19	
20	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
21	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individual will only be required
22	to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 VAC
23	115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Professional
24	Counselors, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
25	Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers.
26	
27	18 VAC 115-50-96 Continuing competency activity criteria.
28	
29	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
30	or more of the areas listed below.
31	
32	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions
33	2. Counseling theory
34	3. Human growth and development
35	4. Social and cultural foundations
36	5. The helping relationship
37	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
38	7 Lifestyle and career development
39	8. Appraisal of individuals
40	9. Research and evaluation
41	10. Professional orientation
42	11. Clinical supervision
43	12. Marriage and family therapy
44	13. Addictions
45	
46	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following types:

1	
2	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be
3	counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a
4	combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities:
5	
6	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
7	behavioral health discipline.
8	•
9	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
10	
11	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health
12	field offered by federal, state or local licensed health facilities and licensed
13	<u>hospitals.</u>
14	
15	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health
16	field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified
17	or approved by one of the following:
18	
19	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
20	state affiliates.
21	
22	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
23	state affiliates.
21 22 23 24	
25	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
25 26	
27	(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates.
28	
29	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
30	
31	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
32	
33	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state
34	and local affiliates.
35	
36	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
37	
38	(ix) National Board for Certified Counselors.
39	
40	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
41	-
42	(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing
43	competency sponsors by the American Association of State
44	Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state.
45	

1	Individual professional activities.
2	
3	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
4	(2) Dell'estima fortista (Astinita millocont for a manifesta for
5	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight
6	hours.)
7 8	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a
9	
9 10	chapter in an edited book.
11	(ii) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18
12	hours.)
13	nours.)
14	(iii) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
15	(m) Tresentations. (Netryty win count for a maximum of eight hours.)
16	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only
17	actual presentation time may be counted.
18	
19	(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of
20	eight hours.)
22	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.
23	New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university
24	courses.
25	
21 22 23 24 25 26 27	b. Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
27	
28	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
29 30	
30	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten
31	hours.)
32	
33	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical
34	supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
35	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you provide to others.
36 37	provide to others.
38	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
39	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
40	The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing
4 0 41	competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization;
42	editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of
43	state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national
44	counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary
45	review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling
46	committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major

1	counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with
2	justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions
3	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.
4	
5	e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight
6	hours.)
7	
8	The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency
9	as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written
10	justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his
11	clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical
12	topics, etc.
13	topies, etc.
	AC 115-50-97. Documenting compliance with continuing competency
15	requirements.
16	requirements.
17	A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two
18	years following renewal.
19	
20	B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of
21	licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period.
22	C. Unan manage a liganosa shall manida da sumantation as fallows.
23 24	C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:
25	1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall
26	provide:
27	provide.
28	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or
29	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned, or
30	b. Certificates of participation.
31	b. Certificates of participation.
32	2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source
33	material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to
34	completion of the home study.
	completion of the home study.
35	
36	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
37	<u>following:</u>
38	
39	a. Certificates of participation;
40	
41	b. Proof of presentations made;
42	
43	c. Reprints of publications;
11	

1	d. Letters from educational institutions of agencies approving continuing
2	education programs;
3	
4	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
5	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
6	
7	f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed
8	affidavit on a form provided by the board.
9	
10	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
11	satisfy renewal requirements.
12	
13	18 VAC 115-50-100. Late renewal, reinstatement.
14	,
15	A. An individual person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its
16	expiration date by paying the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20 as well as the
17	license fee prescribed for the period the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of
18	having met all applicable continuing competency requirements.
19	naving met air approadic continuing competency requirements.
20	B. An individual person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or more after its
21	expiration date must apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee and submit
22	evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of
23	practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing
23 24	competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
25	competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
26	C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active
27	licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of
	continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not
28	
29	to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
30	
31	DADT VI
32	PART VI
33	DISCIPLINARY ACTION
34	40 T/A C/ 44 F F0 400 DV V V
35	18 VAC 115-50-120. Disciplinary Action.
36	
37	A. In accordance with §54.1-2400 of the <i>Code of Virginia</i> , the board may, after a
38	hearing, revoke, suspend or decline to issue or renew a license or impose a fine in
39	accordance with the following:
40	
41	1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;
42	
43	2. Procurement of a license, certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation;
44	
45	3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health
46	and welfare of one's clients or the general public;

1		
2	4.	Practicing marriage and family therapy without reasonable skill and safety to
3		clients by virtue of physical or emotional illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs,
4		narcotics, chemicals or any other hazardous substance or material;
5		,
6	5	Providing or offering services outside the demonstrable areas of competency; or
7	3.	Troviding or offering services outside the demonstratic areas of competency, or
8	6	Violating or abetting another person in the violation of any provision of any
9	0.	statute applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, or any part or
10		portion of this chapter-; or
		portion of this chapter, or
11	7	Follows to comply with the continued competency acquirements out fouth in this
12	/.	Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this
13		<u>chapter</u> .
14		
15		
16	Subst	tance Abuse Treatment Practitioner Regulations
17		
18		
19	PART	'I
20		GENERAL PROVISIONS
21		
22		
23	18 VA	C 115-60-20. Fees required by the board.
24		•
25	A. The	board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a substance abuse
26		ent practitioner:
27		
28		Registration of supervision (initial)\$50
29		Add/Change supervisor
30		Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure\$140
31		Initial licensure by endorsement: Processing and initial licensure\$140
32		Active aAnnual license renewal
33		
34		Inactive annual license renewal
35		Duplicate license
36		Late renewal
37		Reinstatement of a lapsed license \$165
38		Replacement of or additional wall certificate
39		Returned check\$25
40		Reinstatement following revocation or suspension\$500
41		
42		es shall be <u>paid directly</u> to the board or its contractor, or both, in appropriate
43	amoun	its as specified in the application instructions. All fees are non-refundable.

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.

1 2 3 4 5	PART IV. LICENSE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT
6	18 VAC 115-60-110. Renewal of licensure
7 8 9	A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.
10 11 12	B. <u>Beginning with the 2005renewal</u> , eEvery license holder who intends to continue <u>an active</u> to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:
13 14 15	1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and
16 17 18	2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20.C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon
19 20 21 22 23	payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-60-20. No person shall practice substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-60-120.C.
24 25 26 27	<u>CD</u> . Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal requirement.
28 29	18 VAC 115-60-115. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license.
30 31 32 33 34 35 36	A. After July 1, 2004, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be required to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standard of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
37 38 39 40	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing competency requirement.
41 42 43 44 45	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.

1	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
2	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individuals will only be
3	required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this Chapter or subsection A of
4	18 VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family
5	Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
6	Practice of Licensed Professional Counselors.
7	Time of Electrical Transfer and Company Company
8 9	18 VAC 115-60-116. Continuing competency activity criteria.
10	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
11	or more of the areas listed below.
12	
13	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions
14	2. Counseling theory
15	3. Human growth and development
16	4. Social and cultural foundations
17	5. The helping relationship
18	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
19	7 Lifestyle and career development
20	8. Appraisal of individuals
21	9. Research and evaluation
22	10. Professional orientation
23	11. Clinical supervision
24	12. Marriage and family therapy
25	13. Addictions
26	
27	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following
28	types:
29	
30	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be
31	counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a
32	combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities:
33	
34	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
35	behavioral health discipline.
36	
37	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
38	
39	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field
40	offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.
41	
42	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field
43	offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or
44	approved by one of the following:
	approved by one of the following.
45	

1	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
2	state affiliates.
4	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
5	state affiliates.
6	state arrinates.
7	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
8	(iii) 1110 12110110 un 12000 un iii 01 0 un ii
9	(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates.
10	
11	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
12	
13	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
14	
15	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state
16	and local affiliates.
17	
18	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
19	
20	(ix) The National Board for Certified Counselors.
21	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
23	
24	(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing
25	competency sponsors by the American Association of State
26	Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state.
27	
28 20	2. Individual professional activities.
29	
30	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
31	
32	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight
	hours.)
34	
33 34 35 36 37	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a
36	chapter in an edited book.
38	(ii) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
39	
40	(iii) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
41	
12	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only
43	actual presentation time may be counted.

1	(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of
2	eight hours.)
3	
4	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or
5	workshop. New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level
6	college or university courses.
7	
8	b. Dissertation (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours)
9	
10	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
11	
12	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten
13	hours.)
14	
15	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical
16	supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
17	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you
18	provide to others.
19	
20	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
21	
22	The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing
23	competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization;
24	editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of
25	state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national
26	counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary
27	review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling
28	committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major
29	counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with
30	justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions
31	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.
32	
33	e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight
34	hours.)
35	
36	The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency
37	as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written
38	justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his
39	clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical
40	topics, etc.
41	
	AC 115-60-117. Documenting compliance with continuing competency
43	requirements.
44	
45	A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two
46	years following renewal

1	
2	B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of
3	licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period.
4	
5 6	C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:
7	1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall
8	provide:
9	provide.
10 11	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or
12	b. Certificates of participation.
13	2. Do supportation of home study shall be made by identification of the same
14	2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source
15	material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to
16	completion of the home study.
17	
18	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
19	<u>following:</u>
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	
21	a. Certificates of participation;
22	
23	b. Proof of presentations made;
24	
25	c. Reprints of publications;
26	
27	d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing
28	education programs;
29	
30	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
31 32	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
32	
33	f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed
34	affidavit on a form provided by the board.
35	
36	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
37	satisfy renewal requirements.
38	
39	18 VAC 115-60-120. Late renewal; reinstatement.
40	
41	A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration
42	date by paying the late renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20, as well as the license
43	fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met
44	all applicable continuing competency requirements.
45	

1	B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume
2	practice must shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license,
3	and submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the
4	scope of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable
5	continuing competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
6	
7	C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for
8	active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and
9	documentation of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license
10	has been inactive not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
11	
12	
13	PART V.
14	STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
15	UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS;
16	REINSTATEMENT
17	
18	18 VAC 115-60-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand,
19	censure, or denial of renewal of license.
20	
21	A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in
22	accord with the following:
23	
24	1. Conviction of a felony, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or
25	violation of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 of Title 54.1
26	(§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the
27	practice of substance abuse treatment, or any provision of this chapter.
28	
29	2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation.
30	
31	3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health
32	and welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice
33	substance abuse treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of
34	illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of
35	material or result of any mental or physical condition.
36	
37	4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of
38	Practice (18 VAC 115-60-130).
39	
40	5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency.
41	
42	6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this
43	<u>chapter.</u>
44	
45	B. Petition for rehearing. Following the revocation or suspension of a license the
46	licensee may petition the board for rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result of

substantial new evidence having been obtained that would alter the determination 1 2 3 4 reached.